How to obtain your OLCC Server Permit
You must complete both steps to obtain a service permit:
Clearly complete (by printing or typing) all the spaces on a service permit
application before your first day mixing, selling, or serving alcohol. Then have an authorized person,
usually your employer, verify your age and identity and sign the application. Make sure your application
is completed and mailed to the OLCC with the $23 fee. Licensees are responsible for immediately
transmitting the application by the end of the first work day following your first work shift. Service
permit applications are available from your employer and your local OLCC office.
Take and pass an alcohol server education class within 45 days from the first day
you start mixing, selling, or serving alcohol.
If you pass a class before you complete a service permit application, the OLCC will give
you credit for your class if you apply for a service permit within two years of the date you passed the
You should receive your service permit about 14 days after the OLCC receives your completed
service permit application, $23.00 fee, and you have passed the server education test (which will be
given at the end of this class).
Not every person qualifies for a service permit. Applicants may be denied if they have
recent or multiple felony or DUII convictions or if they make a false statement on the application. The
form contains a brief description of the conditions that may make someone ineligible for a service
permit. Read the application carefully and complete it fully and honestly. If you have questions about
whether you are eligible, call the OLCC.
Resources to Print
You must be at least 18 years old to apply and receive your permit in Oregon. It
is not required that you fill this out before class, but you cannot mix, serve or
sell alcohol until it is signed by an authorized signer (your employer, the Oregon
Liquor Control Commission, or a licensee or their manager) and placed in the mail.
Although not required, you can download and print a full class workbook. This workbook
is handy not only during the training, but also as a reference in the future.
Why We Need Your Social Security Number
Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 25.785
(1) Any state agency, board or commission that is authorized to issue an occupational,
professional, recreational or driver license, certification, permit or registration
subject to suspension under ORS 25.750 to 25.783 shall require that individual's
Social Security number be recorded on an application for, or form for renewal of,
a license, certification, permit or registration and to the maximum extent feasible
shall include the Social Security number in automated databases containing information
about the individual.
(2) A state agency, board or commission described in subsection (1) of this section
may accept a written statement from an individual who has not been issued a Social
Security number by the United States Social Security Administration to fulfill the
requirement in subsection (1) of this section.
(3) An individual may not submit to a state agency, board or commission a written
statement described in subsection (2) of this section knowing the statement to be
false. [1997 c.746 117; 1999 c.80 93; 2003 c.610 1]
Why We Ask You Security Questions
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission requires each student to validation their identity.
At registration, you will be asked simple personal questions that must be answered
correctly within 45 seconds at random points during the course to verify you are
the same person who registered for the course.
- To promote responsible alcohol consumption through responsible alcohol service.
- To give you the knowledge and skills to prevent alcohol sales to minors and visibly
intoxicated persons and avoid third-party liability lawsuits.
- To help you realize that your actions can reduce the number of intoxicated drivers,
deaths, injuries, and other costs resulting from alcohol abuse.
- To give you practice checking ID and stopping service to visibly intoxicated persons.
- To help save lives.
You will learn the following objectives that the stage legislature set for this
Alcohol Server Education program:
- Oregon's Alcohol Server Education law.
- Alcohol as a drug and its effects on the body and behavior, especially driving ability.
- Drunk driving laws and liquor liability statues.
- Oregon alcohol sales and service laws.
- Effective alcohol server intervention tecniques.
- Advertising and marketing for safe and responsible alcohol service and consumption.
- Effects of alcohol on combination with commonly used legal and illegal drugs.
About the Test
You must complete the test in one session and access the test only one time.
It is loaded directly after class on the screen once all 7 lessons are completed successfully.
Beginning on May 1st, 2014, Server Education test results will now be available on OLCC’s website at: http://www.olcc.state.or.us/pdfs/ServerEdTestResults.pdf. Please allow up to 7 days for test results to be posted.
There are 50 multiple choice questions, a passing score is 70% or better.
You will have as long as you wish to take the test.
You **MUST NOT** refer to any written material or have a discussion with another person during
the test (except a certified instructor, or interpreter).
If your computer is idle for 30 minutes or more while taking the test,
you will receive a visual and auditory warning stating that if you do not resume
activity within 5 minutes (with timer visible on the screen), you will be logged out
and will be required to retake the course and the test from the beginning.
A proctor (required by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission) is any person 21 or over present
to watch you while taking the test(cannot be yourself or someone else taking the course at the same time).
Information needed: name, date of birth, address, phone number.
Fill out your registration completely and carefully. Your proctor is not needed in class,
there is nothing for them to fill out, document and they will not need to contact anyone,
they just need to watch you take the exam after your complete the lessons.
The average time to complete the test is typically 10 to 20 minutes.
At random points throughout the course, you will be asked validation questions from
the information provided by you at registration as per the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.
A correct answer must match the information in your profile and must be entered within 30 seconds.
If you fail more than 2 validation questions, the course will be suspended and you must contact ATP.
If you can satisfactorily validate your identity via email,
the course shall be reopened and the student shall be allowed to proceed.
Course Tuition: $17.95
By submitting your tuition you understand that like other Providers of these classes,
you will not be refunded your tuition for any reason. This is a service your are purchasing,
not a product that can be returned. This class will be available for you to attend for 30 days after date of purchase.
Desktop or Laptop Computer (mobile devices may be used, all have not been tested however).
Operating System: Windows XP/Vista/7/8, Macintosh OS, Linux.
Minimum Internet connection speed: 56kbps
Minimum Screen resolution: 1024 x 768
Browser: Internet Explorer 8 or higher, and current versions of Firefox, Google Chrome, or Safari.
(all browsers tested have performed well, but all have not been tested).
Adobe Acrobat Reader and a recent version of Adobe Flash (8 or higher) installed on your system.
Visit http://adobe.com to download Flash or Reader.
Have More Questions?
We are here to help, 24/7. If you have any questions about the course, the test,
or any other service we offer, please contact us!